Sage Award for Scholarly Contributions

Sage Award for Scholarly Contributions

Sponsor: Sage Publications

This award is presented annually to a nominee who has made outstanding scholarly contributions to the field. Sponsored by Sage Publishers, this award recognizes a present or past member of the division who has made significant contributions that have advanced our knowledge of diversity, equity and inclusion in organizations. Scholarly contributions include the creation and dissemination of new knowledge in the form of empirical, theoretical, or applied developments. This award is given for an accumulated body of work.

Deadline for Nominations: Open
If you have any questions please reach out to the award chair and committee member, Kristen Burton ( 

To nominate, submit a 2-3 page letter of recommendation outlining the nominee’s contributions with respect to the criteria below and a copy of the nominee’s vita.

Criteria for consideration includes:
1) the overall scope of the nominee’s work with consideration to their contribution to diversity, equity and inclusion
2) the depth of the nominee’s research in terms of richness in the exploration of one or more diversity, equity and inclusion topics
3) significance of research in raising important questions and providing direction for future research in the diversity, equity and inclusion domain 
4) enduring contribution to research on diversity, equity and inclusion

Award Recipients


Award Recipient

  • Amy Randel, San Diego State University 


  • Chair: Aneika Simmons
  • Member(s): Mikki Hebl, Corinne Post, and Maria Baskerville
Year Recipient University Affiliation
(at time of award)
Committee Members
2022 Corinne Post Villanova University Aneika L. Simmons (chair), Sam Houston State U.
Shanna Daniels, Florida State University
Farnaz Ghaedipour, McMaster University
2021 Lisa Leslie New York University Aneika L. Simmons (chair), Sam Houston State U.
Mikki Hebl, Rice U.
Alice H. Eagly, Northwestern U.
Carol Kulik, U. of South Australia
Oscar Holmes IV, Rutgers U.
Jennifer Kish-Gephart, U. of Massachusetts-Amherst
2020 Quinetta Roberson Michigan State University Alexis Smith Washington (chair), Oklahoma State U.
Derek Avery, Wake Forest U.
Beth Ann Livingston, U. of Iowa
Maria Baskerville Watkins, Northeastern U
2019 Eden King Rice University Alexis Smith Washington (chair), Oklahoma State U.
Derek Avery, Wake Forest U.
Oscar Holmes IV., Rutgers U.
Maria Baskerville Watkins, Northeastern U.
2018 Alice Eagly Northwestern University Yvonne Benschop (chair), Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Caren Goldberg, Bowie State University
Sabrina Volpone, University of New Mexico
Derek Avery, Wake Forest University
Douglas Creed, University of Rhode Island
2017 Derek Avery Wake Forest University Lynn Offerman (Chair), George Washington University, USA
Yvonne Benschop, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Mikki Hebl, Rice University, USA
Mareen Kilgour, St. Boniface University, Canada
Aneika Simmons, Sam Houston State University, USA
2016 Nancy DiTomaso Rutgers Business School Lynn Offerman (Chair), George Washington University Yvonne Benschop, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands Mikki Hebl, Rice University
Mareen Kilgour, St. Boniface University
Aneika Simmons, Sam Houston State University
2015 David A. Kravitz George Mason University Lynn Offerman (Chair), Maureen Kilgour, Tara Lockhart, Mikki Hebl, Carol Kulik, Y. W. M. (Yvonne) Benschop
2014 Mikki Hebl Rice University David Kravitz (Chair), Susan Case, Yka Fujimoto, David Harrison, David Kaplan, Ann Marie Ryan, Aneika Simmons
2013 Ann Marie Ryan Michigan State University David Kravitz (Chair), Susan Case, Jorge Gonzalez, Stella Nkomo, Belle Rose Ragins, Aneika Simmons
2012 Dianna Stone University of Texas - San Antonio Stella Nkomo (chair), Donna Blancero, Susan Case, Judith Clair, Aneika Simmons
2011 David Harrison University of Texas - Austin Diana Bilimoria (chair), Beth Chung, Eden King, Patrick McKay, Sean Pichler, Ruth Simpson
2010 Debra Meyerson Stanford University C. Douglas Johnson (chair), Belle Rose Ragins, Stella Nkomo, James King, Beth Livingston, Eden King
2009 Stella Nkomo University of South Africa Gwendolyn Combs (chair), Marta Calas, C. Douglas Johnston, Belle Rose Ragins
2008 Ellen Kossek Michigan State University
2007 Carol Kulik University of South Australia Laura Morgan Roberts (chair), Joy Beatty, Beth Chung, Dot Moore and S. Antonio Ruiz
2006 Marta Calás and Linda Smircich University of Massachusetts- Amherst
2005 Robin Ely Harvard University Erica G Foldy (chair), Doug Creed, Ellen Ensher, Joana Young, Stella Nkomo, Laura Morgan Roberts
2004 Jeffrey H. Greenhaus Drexel University Donna Chrobot-Mason (chair)
2003 Karen Lyness Baruch College, CUNY Marian Ruderman (chair), Chris Mahoney, David Kravitz, Mary McLaughlin, Robin Church
2002 Saroj Parasuraman Drexel University Tony Butterfield (chair), Yvonne Benschop (Executive Committee), Debra Meyerson (Executive Committee)
2001 Not presented
2000 Linda Stroh
1999 Laura M. Graves
1998 Alison Konrad
Belle Rose Ragins
1997 Dorothy (Dot) P. Moore
1996 Gary Powell
1995 Nancy Adler
1994 Barbara Gutek
1993 Kathryn (Kay) Bartol
1992 Laurie Larwood
1991 Uma Sekaran